1661 reviews | Reviews | Consumer forum

Please consider registering
guest

sp_LogInOut Log In sp_Registration Register

Register | Lost password?
sp_Feed Topic RSS sp_TopicIcon
1661 reviews
July 28, 2009
1:34 pm
dtothec7
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
July 23, 2009
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Just wondering if anybody is using the NOKIA 1661? I am leaning toward that phone given the negative reviews of the 1680. Can anyone tell me if it is better than the 1208 as that model is available as well? Thanks.

July 28, 2009
9:51 pm
iamdrumming
Niagara Falls
Moderator
Moderators
Forum Posts: 2052
Member Since:
October 14, 2008
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Just google "Nokia 1661 reviews" and see what comes up.

August 1, 2009
11:30 am
orangepolyester
Newbie
Members
Forum Posts: 1
Member Since:
August 1, 2009
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

I bought the 1661 a couple weeks back. It's a decent phone: unlike other reviews I've had no problem with the call reception and people have been able to hear me. The interface is well laid-out and even though I have larger hands I've had no problems with the small buttons.

Two problems:

1) It's just a phone. That's all I need, but if you want an mp3 player, bluetooth, etc, you need something more. It has a calendar, contact list, and other tools which I find handy, though.

2) The back creaks horribly whenever I touch it. This is bothering me to the point I may exchange it for the 1280. I don't know if it'll just keep making that noise, or whether that's a sign that it's going to fall apart one day. But you'd think, given the dozens of phones Nokia have made, they could design one with a back that would fit.

Neither of these may be a problem for you, so I'd still recommend it. For a bottom-of-the-line phone, it's not bad, but caveat empor, as always.

August 1, 2009
10:45 pm
dtothec7
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 6
Member Since:
July 23, 2009
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

iamdrumming - I read through the reviews online which mostly covered the phones' features.

orangepolyester - thanks for the review. That's pretty much what i was looking for. I just need a cell phone to use as a phone, so the 1661 would probably do the job well enough. Interesting problem with the back of your phone tho. Maybe a one-off flaw, hopefully.

August 2, 2009
11:27 am
sdm242
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 3
Member Since:
June 13, 2009
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

My husband and I both just bought a 1661 on Friday. Neither of them have a creaky back.

Believe it or not, it's the first cell phone for both of us so I can't give you much in the way of a review but I'll try. They seem to be solidly built and the menus are fairly intuitive. They don't have a lot of bells and whistles and the buttons are a little small but seeing as we're only using them for emergencies I'm not too concerned. We haven't activated them so I'm not sure what call reception is like yet.

September 15, 2009
9:08 pm
Duke
Guest
Guests

Hi,

Just wanted to second the review of the 1661 above. I've had mine for about 6 weeks now, and while it's a decent phone and works ok, it seems very cheaply made (very creaky back) and I've dropped it a couple of times indoors (not on cement yet thankfully) and the last time the back came half way off. So not a phone for the accident prone! But then again, what do you want for $30 bucks? (it's half price until end Sept.)

I like the flashlight and the radio and the phone otherwise works fine. The user interface is good as usual for Nokia. But if you're looking for something to last you awhile, I would seriously consider upgrading to the 1680 or 5130. I'm not sure how tough they are, but in seeing them at the store they seem to be more solidly made than the 1661.

If I had to do it again, I would have spent the extra money and got a better one. If you rarely use your phone and don't think you'll ever drop it, then the 1661 is probably OK for you.

November 18, 2009
1:34 am
Baldeep
Guest
Guests

I got that phone and it sucked for me. It was damaged so I'm going to go back to 7 11 and exchange it for the Nokia 2760.

November 18, 2009
1:50 am
Chris
Guest
Guests

I just got a Nokia 1661. It came with a BL-4B battery. The manual says it should be a 4C, and the BL-4B battery is too small to fit snugly in the phone.

Is this normal?

Edit:

Ugh, I can't get it to charge or turn on. I guess it's not normal. Blah.

November 18, 2009
2:03 am
Baldeep
Guest
Guests

Chris:

Just get a new phone my man, I don't want you to go through what I went through. I might get the Nokia 2760 or another 1661.

December 19, 2009
11:10 pm
Money
Member
Members
Forum Posts: 11
Member Since:
December 18, 2009
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline

Does anyone know places to unlock the Nokia 1661? I tried ebay but can't seem to find one that will unlock 7-11 Speakout.