Site at "Free SMS" link reported by Google as malware "attack site" | Site feedback and suggestions | Consumer forum


 

 
You must be logged in to post Login Register


Register? | Lost Your Password?

Search Forums:


 






Wildcard Usage:
*    matches any number of characters
%    matches exactly one character

Site at "Free SMS" link reported by Google as malware "attack site"

UserPost

10:49 am
September 1, 2009


The Lorax

Guest

The link on the main page to "1888usa.com" links to another site to provide the SMS messaging service… when I access this site, Firefox throws up a huge red page saying that it is an attack site and provides details about the nature of the attack (trojans).


11:10 am
September 1, 2009


mjbad2

Member

posts 129

The Lorax said:

The link on the main page to "1888usa.com" links to another site to provide the SMS messaging service… when I access this site, Firefox throws up a huge red page saying that it is an attack site and provides details about the nature of the attack (trojans).


You are correct. I observed it long ago. I thought mod will point out this.

But its always user be aware. use at own risk. I am scared once you enter somebody phone number how will it be used. Which list will it be added.

11:31 am
September 1, 2009


bylo

519

Moderator

posts 576

Interesting. That must be a new development because I've used 1888usa.com in the past and I've never, ever (touch wood) got SPAM e-mails from anyone.

If you're adventurous you could try http://www.freeglobesms.com/ or http://www.sendsmsnow.com/ but do your own due diligence first.

BTW it probably wouldn't cost ztar much to set up a send SMS from e-mail feature that worked only to send texts to its customers.

10:26 pm
September 1, 2009


Peter

BC

Admin

posts 608

Thanks for bringing that up. It is also a surprise to me that there is any problem with 1888usa.com. However, to be safe I have removed the link on the front page and made it point to this thread.