Why I chose 7-11 over the rest | Reviews | Consumer forum


 

 
You must be logged in to post Login Register


Register? | Lost Your Password?

Search Forums:


 






Wildcard Usage:
*    matches any number of characters
%    matches exactly one character

Why I chose 7-11 over the rest

UserPost

2:11 pm
May 29, 2007


eigenvector

Guest

Why did I choose the 7-11 deal over the rest of the competition? Well, in a word, it was because of this Website! Thanks a lot to Peter for setting this site up to get the word out. I can't believe that 7-11 does such a poor job of the same.

I only wish I had found this website sooner, before going to the websites of all the other phone companies. Peter's "other prepaid" has quick links to all of the relevant info.

Before encountering the website, the best deal for me seemed like Virgin Mobile. I'm looking for a phone (possibly 2) for very occasional use. I'm currently being gouged on my Telus Talk-20 plan by paying $32/mo for talking only 10-20 minutes per month on the phone.

So I was looking for a new phone plan based on the assumption that I would use it about 20-30 minutes per month.

All of the big guys out there (Telus, Rogers, Fido) had pretty shabby pay-as-you-go plans because the minutes all expire within 30/60 days, so the minimum annual cost is pretty high.

Virgin Mobile has a $100 top-up with 365 day expiry, which seemed to be what I wanted. But there were a few factors that swayed me towards the 7-11 deal:

– The free phone deal, which saves me about $60-70 (the cost of the cheapest phone at Virgin). I don't care what kind of phone it as as long as it's not total trash. From all the reviews I read of the 1112 it is a simple, solid phone that does the basics well.
– The fact that Virgin charges $0.25/min and is increasing their rates soon to $0.30/min, so 7-11 is 0.10/min cheaper
– The fact that all of the 7-11 top-ups have 365 day expiry, whereas with Virgin they expire sooner if you buy less than $100 worth of top-up

Thanks again for all of the info!


2:49 pm
May 29, 2007


starter

Guest

I also chose 7-11 Speak Out because of this site!

Another reason is that 7-11 uses GSM, not CDMA (like Virgin).

If Chris in "Canadian Speak Out phones in US
" gets a US SIM for free and the calls goes on to the Canadian account, that would be yet another reason for me to echo the above review.

4:37 pm
May 29, 2007


Elman

Guest

I choose 7-eleven speakout because of
- 0.20/ min
- GSM (easy to swap simcard)
- 365 days expiry for a $25 refill
- free to check voice mail from land line
- free phone promotion
- unlocked phones
- 0.05 SMS text messages
- its using Rogers expanded network
- easy to check account balance (button press instead of voice recognition)
- lastly because I live close by 7-eleven so its easy for me to get a refill

10:41 pm
June 3, 2007


Speakout_User

Guest

I agree with the PROs listed above.

Some CONS:

-coverage looks like full Rogers network according t the map, but, clearly this is not the case. ie. no speakout coverage in Wasaga Beach. Others have suggested in postings that some areas covered by Rogers lack SpeakOUT coverage (ie Sudbury, Kawarthas,Tofino, Ucluelet, and Campbell River). I'd suggest to think twice if you plan to purchase for use in an area outside of a major urban center.

-Speakout has already manipulating (reducing) services. The December 2006 brouchure says for long distance calls total charge, including air time is $0.30 /min.
The May 2007 brochure fails to define this rate. (Such is the nature of having no contract).

11:47 pm
June 17, 2007


Speakout_User

Guest

Swapping SIM cards with a Rogers PayGo user in the Wasaga/ Collingwood area has confirmed that

    Speakout coverage is NOT the same as Rogers

.

Be cautious if you are purchasing Speakout to use outside of major urban areas! I would not recommend it.

12:57 pm
June 18, 2007


elmanl

Guest

speakout_user, call 611 and tell them that you are not able to connect to Wasaga/ Collingwood, they should be able to fix it right away, you might be on the old coverage footprint. As I am able to connect when I was in the collingwood area.

10:15 pm
June 28, 2007


Egg

Guest

Speakout has the best customer service I have encountered in a long time. I had called a couple of times with minor problems and each time they have credited my account. Not much, but they say for my inconvenience they will add xx dollars and they are very pleasant. I recommend Speak out to everyone who no longer wants a contract. U can't beat the 105 dollar credit with a free phone. The phone is very basic but stick the Sim card in a nice Rogers phone and your laughing.

10:36 pm
July 4, 2007


Speakout_User

Guest

As I wrote in the "ROGERS SYSTEM" Forum…

Now that customer service has "updated" my service I am able to get coverage in areas that I previously could not (Wasaga, Collingwood, Mansfield). It seems that my speakout coverage is now equivalent to my friend's Rogers coverage.

The account should have been properly setup initially, and it took three calls to customer service, but I've now go the phone and service that will keep me happy.

12:08 am
July 11, 2007


lips

Guest

If i port my number from Rogers to 7-11, will I still be able to put my Rogers SIM card back in my phone and use it like I never left? Just wondering.

6:55 am
July 11, 2007


Gopher Guts

Guest

No.

The Rogers SIM will be dead.

The phone number that used to be assigned to it will then be assigned to your Speakout SIM.

The old Speakout number will be deactivated, and returned to the "pool" of available numbers for use at some future date.

8:47 pm
October 14, 2007


Peter Brett

Guest

My wife and I came to Vancouver to travel during October 2007. We purchased a 7-11 phone from the store in Denman near the Hotel Sylvia. The manager was very helpful and the phone worked immediately he activated it and credited the pre-pay. We carried it around the Rockies, it worked just fine in most places and my son in Australia and I were able to text (and phone) each other. Sincere thanks for the website, it helped me abandon any idea of bringing my phone from Oz. I watched fellow travellers' frustrations with their home phones while travelling. To phone one of them across the table I would have to call their Australian number (a $$OS call) then the call is redirected back to the phone in Canada (another $$OS call). 7-11's deal makes it so easy and comfortable to operate.
Thanks again.
Peter B